The beginning of understanding

From Anselm’s Proslogion:

“I do not seek, Lord, to reach your heights, for my intellect is as nothing compared to them. But I seek in some way to understand your truth, which my heart believes and loves. For I do not seek to understand in order to believe, but rather believe in order to understand.”

Anselm of Canterbury is the forerunner of medieval scholasticism. He pioneered the bridge between theology and reason, seeking to understand faith through rational argument. It is a tight rope to tread on especially since what is understood in modern philosophy feeds on unquestionable reason (more often than not a reaction to an outrage, an idea I will explore in my next post). Anselm makes a very interesting point here. He puts the horse before the cart suggesting that understanding stems from belief and not the other way around.

Leave a Reply

